BUT WHAT IS ANGER?

image

I wouldn’t say I know myself too well because with each passing day I get to learn something new about Laurah. Something that leaves me completely flabbergasted, in shock and in wonder. One of these things is my view of anger.

I would say I’m usually a person that is slow to anger. One that doesn’t often lose their temper nor fly off the handle. I would say I do make storms out of tea cups and hurricanes out of drops in the oceans, though seldom. But oh well that is what I like to see and think of myself as, anyone else would have a different opinion. But when I do, its true -I’m scary. Yes scary! I become extremely energetic and undaunted. And truly at that time anything whatsoever is possible.

I know better though. Life has taught me.

So this is how I choose to see Anger. Anger is fuel. You feel it and you want to do something. Hit a wall, smash a fist into someone’s face, break some vases, throw some knives, scratch some eyes, tell those bustards. The list is endless. But who are we? Or who do we want to be seen as? Yes, you’re right! Good people! Instead of reacting to it, we stuff it up, deny it, bury it, block it, hide it, run from it, refuse it, lie about it, medicate it, muffle it and even worse ignore it. We do everything but listen to it. What we don’t know is that anger is a voice. A voice deep within our being and is meant to be heard and listened to. It’s a plea, a shout, a demand, an urgent quest, a need! When we don’t listen to it, that’s when we point it to all the wrong directions because we cannot translate the message its sending us.

But we are human. When we become angry we like to point fingers, don’t we?
“So and so caused this misery and suffering that I’m going through.”
Isn’t that what we say?
But looking deeply, the seed of anger isn’t within them but in us and hence the cause of torment. We get angry at people expecting them to feel the resentment but end up hurting more. This is because anger doesn’t change the hearts of others but our own. You think its the weapon that attacks those who harmed us? No! It’s the poison that eats you from the inside, the ugliness that turns you inside out, the acid that corrodes you and the very demon that tears your soul apart. It’s the stagnant water that becomes dirty, stinky, disease-ridden and deadly if we cannot listen to it, and control it by acting to it appropriately. As long as its let to flow, there’s nothing wrong with it.

En bref, anger is just anger. It was once said:

It isn’t good. It isn’t bad. It just is. What you do with it is what matters. It’s like anything else. You can use it to build or destroy. You just have to make a choice.

Author: laurahstar

Poetry.Deep musings.Just thoughts that might help one day

5 thoughts on “BUT WHAT IS ANGER?”

Leave a Reply

