MASKS.

image

Most of us

More often than not

Where masks and deceive the rest

I’m happy on the outside but a crying, weary and an “almost-giving-up” being on the inside

I’m calm and serene, but paddling in small outbursts unseen beneath

I wear a brave face, but I’m very scared deep down

Let me pretend to be strong when I barely have any energy left in me to fight on

I can burst out in laughter, laugh my heart out when I’m with my friends but back at my crib loneliness chews on me

I may strive to show you how much I don’t care anymore, that your absence does nothing to me and just suffocate slowly because your absence truly defies me of air

I wanna have pizza when we hang out coz that’s your favourite but it sure isn’t my kinda thing

I don’t even like outdoor adventures, I’m an indoor kinda person but yeah sure we can go rafting sometime

“How are you?”
“I’m fine”…when I know I’m not and what I really need is a listening ear, a shoulder to cry on, and somebody to lean on coz strength isn’t on my list right now

But oh well is it wrong?

Is it shrewdness?

Or is it prudence?

Ninety percent of the people you tell what you’re going through don’t care anyway

Author: laurahstar

Poetry.Deep musings.Just thoughts that might help one day

Leave a Reply

