Determination.

I stare into the rain

As each drop falls to the ground

I am reminded of how time is flying by so fast

Each drop, a second

When it drops and soaks into the ground

As it disappears completely

I liken it to time

Once gone cannot be recovered

My mind goes adrift

To the gazillion things that I want to accomplish

Before when and where

I carefully examine the time frames

The seasons and reasons

The visions and missions

I begin to calculate the hours and pin each goal to its own

In my mind I see resources

At this time I don’t exactly understand why I make excuses and blame resources on all my shortcomings in real life

In my head success is at arm’s length

I question why it seems miles away out here

As I imagine the successful me

Wearing this and that

Travelling from here to there

Inspiring him and her

Uplifting them

Not needing no introductions as my work speaks for itself

I wonder what it is that I’m doing to reach there

Two different personas

Same world

One hardworking, the other lazier than ever

One successful, the other miserable

One a leader, the other a lousy servant

Separated by a narrow alley

And the only foot bridge there is, is determination

I walk backwards away from the window

Still staring a that small long bridge

Some of its wood is missing

And how vigorously its shaking in this storm

Sort of scares me

I begin to doubt again, is the grass really greener on the other side?

Just then Val walks in shouting,
“There’s only one way to find out!”

Author: laurahstar

Poetry.Deep musings.Just thoughts that might help one day

10 thoughts on “Determination.”

Leave a Reply

