I don’t want to lose it.

The quiet conversations she holds in her head
After weary days and long nights
With sweaty palms and sore feet
Sleepy eyes and a semiconcious brain
Everyday she craves it
For them to acknowledge to her how good she looks
And actually mean it
Or maybe not
It matters
But maybe not that much
For them to look at her and see the flaws on flaws on flaws
And overlook them
Perhaps not
Maybe just appreciate them for what they are
She’d be nothing without them
Those pounds of flesh overlap
Her poor flabby midrib
Sorry small eyes
Dry flat cheeks
Annoying average lips
A tongue that doesn’t quiet
Causing storms in her brain
I can’t contain it
Eyes that don’t miss a thing
Give her your attention already, will you!
Those ears as tiny as they are,
Capture
Your complement is exclusive
I wish I believed in me more
I wish she did
I wish you did
You wouldn’t know how much it’d grow her esteem
You wouldn’t comprehend how high it would lift her head
You don’t see her
Do you see me?
Please do
I don’t want to lose it.

Author: laurahstar

Poetry.Deep musings.Just thoughts that might help one day

Leave a Reply

